Stand here

There is a quiet strength called courage

That I endeavor to embrace

As you threaten, berate, curse and lie

And pull all others into your farce.

While shaken, concerned, and my body remembers fear

I will still stand here, stand still, stand up

For I will not back down to a bully that gains all his courage

From the neck of a bottle

And the falsehoods of neighbors that you charm.

I understand that you do not comprehend this quiet courage,

This lack of manipulation, this stance of solitary stillness

And I have no need to explain it to you.

Guided by inner values, I need not the validation of others

And my truth will be heard in court

And judged accordingly.

I must remember, when panic seizes my throat

And I can not breathe,

That all I require is the legalities of the system

To take you to court the next time you threaten me directly.

Shall I not get the court’s nod to my stance,

I can still stand here in my staunch determination

To not be a victim

To not bend to pressure

To not cave to disapproval –

Even the insidious sidle of mendacious neighbors

Toward lies and away from truth.

You have the damaged dysfunction of an alien perspective

And I will find compassion for your hard life

And not excuse the behaviors that bully and threaten.

See me, I will stand here, stand still, stand up.

Published by: Wealth By Design USA, Inc

Wealth By Design USA, Inc is a fee-only financial planning and 401(k) consulting firm that prides itself on unparalleled service and performance. We are committed to providing unbiased advice and prudent strategies for investing. Our services are always tailored to your unique needs. We provide estate planning, risk management, cash flow analysis, investment management, retirement planning, and tax planning and management. Our fee-based approach allows us to serve you without compromise and work in a fiduciary capacity. YOU are our most important focus. Our Mission: To provide comprehensive, holistic, financial planning and investment management to local businesses and families through trusted, knowledgeable advice in an atmosphere of caring relationships.

Categories Poetry1 Comment

One thought on “Stand here”

Leave a Reply

